The House resumed its regular sittings after a long recess from 8th December, 2022 to 6th February, 2023. The Speaker, Hon. Aharub Khatri welcomed all Members to the Second Session of the Third Assembly and communicated to the House that certain offices must be put in place for proper functioning of County Government.

In his communication, he reminded Members that the process of vetting County Executive Members, County Chief Officers and the County Attorney was at the formative stages and urged the Member to execute their mandates cognizant of the principles of separation of powers.

During the long recess, four Special Sittings were held where the House conducted important County Businesses on the approval of a motion granting the County Government to borrow funds for the purposes of early payment of salaries; Approval of nominations of County Secretary/ Head of Public Service and Secretary/CEO of County Public Service Board; Approval of the Mombasa County Finance Bill, 2022 and approval hearings of the County Committee Members scheduled for 16th February, 2023.

Members were further notified to anticipate the receipt of a message from H.E the Governor, Abdulswamad Sheriff Nasir on the nomination of County Chief Officers. Taking note of the budget timelines, the honourable Speaker mentioned that the County Fiscal Strategy Paper is expected to be laid before the House by 28th February, 2023.

The leader of Majority Party Hon. Athman Rama Mwamwiri moved a motion on the approval of Members to the County Assembly House Business Committee pursuant to Standing Orders 151(d) of the County Assembly where the House approved the thirteen (13) Members to serve in the committee.

1. Hon. Aharub Ebrahim Khatri – Chairperson

2. Hon. Athman Rama Mwamwiri

3. Hon. Prischillah Mema Mumba

4. Hon. Morgan Masaki

5. Hon. Hamida Noor Sheikh

6. Hon. Abdirahman Abdulkadir

7. Hon. Frankline Makanga

8. Hon. Hawa Abdulrahman

9. Hon. Ibrahim Oyugi Omondi

10. Hon. Kibwana Swaleh Baya

11. Hon. Amriya Boy Juma

12. Hon. Naeem Shafiq Mohamed

13. Hon. Mwinyi Mtoto Khamis

The Speaker. Hon. Aharub Khatri welcomed all Members to the Second Session of the Third Assembly