Office of the Speaker


  1. The office of the speaker is established by the Constitution 2010 in Chapter 11 of Devolved Government article 176.
  2. The Speaker is an Ex officio member elected by the County Assembly Members.
  3. The speaker presides over county Assembly sittings.
  4. In the absence of the Speaker the sittings are presided over by the Deputy Speaker or any other Member of the Speaker’s panel.
  5. The Speaker administers the oath of affirmation or allegiance to Members and issues writs for vacant County Assembly seats;
  6. The Speaker protects the rights of the minority while making sure that the majority have their way,
  7. Organizing the business of the House as he/she is the Chairman of the House Business committee.