Who We Are

About Mombasa County Assembly

Mombasa county assembly is one of the 47 county assemblies in the Republic of Kenya that were established under the constitution of Kenya 2010. The county assemblies are as a result of article 176(1). The mandate of the county assembly is legislation, representation and oversight. The current leadership of the county assembly assumed office after the general election of 4th March, 2013. The county assembly is located at the Treasury Square close to Fort Jesus occupying the old City Hall that belonged to the defunct Mombasa City Council. Mombasa county Assembly is the legislative arm of county government of Mombasa and plays the following roles:

  • Vet and approve nominees for appointment to county public offices as may be provided for in this Act or any other law.
  • Perform the roles set out under Article 185 of the Constitution.
  • Approve the budget and expenditure of the county government in accordance with Article 207 of the Constitution, and the legislation contemplated in Article 220(2) of the Constitution, guided by Articles 201 and 203 of the Constitution.
  • Approve the borrowing by the county government in accordance with Article 212 of the Constitution.
  • Approve county development planning; and
  • Perform any other role as may be set out under the Constitution or legislation.