How the Assembly Works

The county Assembly is governed by:

The Mombasa County Assembly Service Board (CASB) is established pursuant to section 12(1) of the County Government Act 2012 as a Body corporate with perpetual succession.
It has four members and the Clerk: Hon. Speaker of the Assembly as the Chairperson; Leader of Majority as the Vice Chairperson; Leader of Minority and the fourth Member who is one person resident in the County appointed by the County assembly from among persons who have knowledge and experience in Public affairs, but who is not a member of the County Assembly .The Clerk of the Assembly is the Secretary to the Board.
The statutory mandate and responsibilities of the Board Include:-

  1. Providing services and facilities to Ensure the efficient and effectives functioning of the County Assembly;
  2. Constituting offices in the County Assembly Service and appointing and Supervising Office holders;
  3. Preparing annual estimates of expenditures of the County Assembly services and submitting them to the county Assembly for Approval and exercising budgetary control over the service;
  4. Undertaking singly or jointly with the other relevant organizations, programs to promote the ideas of Parliamentary democracy;

County Assembly Leadership is composed of:

  • Speaker
  • Deputy Speaker
  • Speakers Panel
  • Leader of Majority
  • Deputy Leader of Majority
  • Leader of Minority
  • Chief Whip
  • Deputy Majority whip
  • Member of the Public of the Board